Friday, November 21, 2008

Jenny & Chris: the runners

Ok, so I have to catch everyone up on our latest activities since I'm so bad with that.

A few months ago (wow! time goes fast!), Chris decided that he wanted to accomplish one of his life goals and run a half marathon. He signed up for the Leavenworth one during Octoberfest 08. He started training. He kept asking me if I wanted to run it with him and of course I did! Doesn't everyone want to say, "I'm running a half marathon"? But then reality hit and I had the thought of 'maybe I should go run a mile and see how that goes before I commit myself to running 13'. SO GLAD I DID!!! I forgot how much I hated running! Or atleast, how much I hated running when I was out of shape! When I started out on that first run, I felt incredible. I thought 'Why doesn't everyone do this?' I was confident. About 20 steps later, I hit the wall. I felt my lungs collapse and my legs turn to stone. I ran (ran is generous - more like painfully staggered) about a quarter mile. When I couldn't "run" another step, I walked, gasping for air and cursing Adam for this fallen state where disintegration reigns and bodies weaken with idleness. After I had composed myself somewhat, I stumbling over my own feet for another quarter mile. And a painful, slow walk home for the last quarter mile was my prize. Ouch! I was depressed by my out-of-shape-ness. I told Chris I had to pass on his half marathon. I consoled myself to looking up events that Chris could run. Since I couldn't do it, I'd find ways to make him hurt! :) I came across a 5k that was 8 weeks from that day. I felt inspired. I modified Chris's training schedule to mold my flacid, weak body to one that could run 3 miles. I could do it in 2 months! I told myself that. I had to, because up to this point in my life the furthest I had ever run was only 1.5 miles... twice... my entire life!.. and that was when I was in good shape! So I took to running 5 days a week anywhere from 1 to 3 miles a day.

Chris's race came and went. He did awesome! I was so proud of him! He made it under 2 hours even with his knee hurting for the last 7 miles! Watching him run it made me want to run one too! That's a good crowd of people to be associated with. I like those athletic, healthy people. That's the scene I want to be in!

Then it came time for my race. I took 76th out of something like a 100 (Wahoo! 25th percentile! I'm amazing!). I ran 3 miles in under 30 minutes (fast as...slow). And I loved it!!! I have not felt a high like I had after I finished my race in I think ever!!! It was the most incredible feeling! I was deliriously happy! You couldn't have smacked the smile off my face! I don't think I had ever had a goal like that before: one that was really physically hard for me, that I had to work so consistently at, and for so long a time (2 months is long for me!). After it was over, the only think I could think was, 'When's the next one so I can feel this again?' I turned into a runner that day....

A runner once spring comes again and the weather warms up. ;)

1 comment:

Jared-n-Cindi said...

J, you are inspiring! Every once in a while I think I would like to start running. And I do! I run to the bus with the kids and run right back home. It is a good, I don't know, 16th of a mile? Hey, got to start small right!?